I did not quite know how to react  upon reading this New York Times article.  Is this a progress or are we back to the era of Red Guards?  Hard to say.

It does sound like a good idea, upon first hearing it.  Excessive drinking at Chinese banquets is no news.  Accidents caused by drunk driving never decline, despite measures taken by authorities.  And I have a vague idea why this is the case.  My friend owns a bar in Chengdu, every night the customers drive to the bar to get their daily dose of booze, and drive back half drunk.  I asked why the traffic police didn’t line up outside the bar and fine the living crap out those drunkards.  (Pardon my language, I hate drunk drivers.)  “Well,” he told me, “Because I paid them for not coming.” 

I wonder how effective this Booze Squad can be in long term, simply because I am not sure how long Mr. Li could weather the pressure and power play.  How long would the senior officials take him seriously and comply to the rules?  How long till they dig up some dirt of Mr.Li’s?  I guess the most important question is: how powerful the officials who are backing up Mr.Li.  Yes, I am afraid the rule of people is by large still the norm in China.  

But then this other question pops out: is this a violation of personal privacy?  However wrong it is to drink during working hour, is Big Brother approuach the only solution?       

