fire6_20feb08.jpg

Queen Street West was one of my favorite hang out places when I was in Toronto. 

On a sunny summer day, a walk along it would make a perfect day.  It has everything one can possibly need: bookstore (Pages is my favorite independent bookstore), cafe shops (no, not just Starbucks), record store (great second hand selections!), movie theatre, restaurants with food from every corner of the world…Don’t worry about finding the perfect piece of cloth to cover yourself up – every strand of fashion trend meets here.  Punk, mod, Gothic, designer, you name it.  OK, commercial time over.  But if I were a muslin, Queen Street West would be my Mecca.

It saddens me to see Queen Street West like this.  But I believe the spirit of people living there will make it an even greater place. 

