Flat-mate went to Vietnam with her sweetheart, I got the whole apartment to myself.  Suddenly, I realize how much I enjoy being alone. 

Once a loner, always a loner.  And to be honest, I don’t see anything wrong with it.  

Quality time with friends or family is over-rated.  It’s true, me and my best friend cannot be around each other more than four days without killing each other.  And my family…let’s just say I am happy with the distance between us.  We are better at dealing with each other over the phone.  We sound friendlier that way. 

Don’t get me wrong.  My family is not as dysfunctional as I made it sound.  The whole clan is like this.  Self sufficient is the prize virtue.  And may I suggest that I am still a long way from it?  But at least I learnt to appreciate and enjoy solitude. 

That’s why I love being a stranger in a strange place.  Another city, another country, another continent – the further away from home the merrier!  I cannot wait to be a total stranger again!

