A friend sent over an acticle called "Socialized Medicine Is Broken and Can’t Be Fixed", (link here: http://www.townhall.com/content/2094b95a-a87b-423a-8416-1393b43a046d)
 
To those who are too lazy to click on the link, here is an excerpt:

"One basic problem with nationalized health care is that it makes medical services seem free. That pushes demand beyond supply. Governments deal with that by limiting what’s available.

That’s why the British National Health Service recently made the pathetic promise to reduce wait times for hospital care to four months.

The wait to see dentists is so long that some Brits pull their own teeth. Dental tools: pliers and vodka."

 
 Hmmm…this reminds me of a little medical emergence I had while I was in Linz, Austria.  Well, to make long story short, I woke up one morning only to find out that my lips had turned into sausages.  So I went to this hospital,  waited for 3 hrs to see a doctor while wishing I could dig a hole and hide from the glances other patients threw at me constantly. 

Finally it was my turn, the doctor looked at my lips and said cheerfully:" oh, this is no big deal, a cream will do.  But first, let me check whether we are allowed to treat it."  What the heck?!  I couldn’t believe what I heard…

So he picked the phone and said something in German which sounded angry to me, and with a huge smile on his face: "sorry, you have to go see a dermatologist.  We are not allow to treat your condition."   I was on the verge of explosion. 

If that’s what a free medical care system provides, I can do without it.   

 

